Thorns


We often glamorize Christianity…thinking that once we come to Christ or really decide to live our lives for the Savior that life becomes peaches and cream.  Gladly and sadly this is not true.  Our first experience with the Lord can be likened to “the honeymoon phase”  where life is wonderful, we pray, God answers all our prayers, He delivers us, He fulfills us,  He’s this wonderful being that we can’t get enough of.  Early in our walk we spend time reading, attending service, worshiping  fellowshipping, telling everyone we know, etc and etc.  Then for some of us life sets in,  the romance is gone… a prayer or two goes unanswered, we question the presence of “bad things” in our lives and we give up.  For others of us we simply can’t handle the pressure of living right. The persecution from friends, denying our flesh simple pleasures and the burden of having to stay connected with something we can’t see or feel causes us to throw in the towel.  For those of us who chose to stay in this race, our struggles are different. If I can abandon the third person for a moment, I can say the struggle is constant.  Everyday the cares of this world are vying for my attention and everyday I must fight to make sure my first Love is not replaced by anyone or anything.  I know that I am not perfect. I know this race is not a sprint, its a marathon.  I voluntarily abandon my imperfections and I’m so willing to run steady and endure to the end, yet I’m still challenged.  This walk would be so much easier if I was a robot.  If I was programmed to love God, not prone to mistakes or weaknesses.   But we all know Robot Love is not Real Love and just like He said to Paul, He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness”  In many ways my frailty keeps me close to the Throne, it keeps me evaluating and striving for perfection.  As much as I want to abort the pain….like a woman in her third trimester lamenting that she can’t turn back now, I realize that something beautiful must be birthed. My response,   “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Scripture Reference

2 Corinthians 12:1-10

Ecclesiastes 9:11

2 Timothy 4:7

Matthew 24:13

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Thorns

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Please Share Your Thoughts

