Fragrant


Before I get into what I think this means, I just want to talk about the Bible for a second…it’s amazing, it’s truly the only book that I know of that never gets old. Now I understand why it’s called the Living Word. You can read it over and over and the same passage you skimmed over last week can provide so many answers and revelation in another.  I can not tell you how many times I’ve read Corinthians (both of them) but today, I read this and I’m like, “when did this get in here?”

14 Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place. 15 For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing. 16 To the one we are the aroma of death leading to death, and to the other the aroma of life leading to life. And who is sufficient for these things? 17 For we are not, as so many, peddling the word of God; but as of sincerity, but as from God, we speak in the sight of God in Christ.

(2 Corinthians 2:14-17 NKJV)

No doubt lately I’ve been dealing with my responsibility to rep Christ to others.  This passages clearly states that through us God diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.  (Diffuses: to pour out and to cause to spread freely)

We as human being are responsible for pouring out the knowledge of Christ. It’s important to know that God always uses people.  Sure God is all powerful, all knowing, all well,….. EVERYTHING but when He desires to get a job done He uses us- a bunch of unlikely suspects.

To God we are the forerunners,  the fragrance or representation of Christ, not only to those who know him but to those who are at risk of dying because they do not know Him.  Sounds like a huge responsibility to me and I believe that’s why it says at the end of verse 16 who is sufficient in these things? or in other words who can really handle this?

There is no answer that I see, but I do see something else (verse 16) To some we are the smell of death and to others we are the fragrance of life.

Here’s an illustration, as a child of God I’m like an empty perfume bottle, God fills me with perfume which smells very good by the way. And he gives me the responsibility of spraying that fragrance where ever I go.

Now the reality is that some are going to recognize the smell and love it, perhaps their Grandma wore it when they were a child.

Some will recognize it and hate it, maybe their ex wore it and they were hurt by them.

Some people may have never smelled the fragrance and are intrigued by it, while others are unwilling to give something unfamiliar a try.

I could go on and on with examples, but my point is, the burden of being used by God is really not a burden at all.

I have such a hard time simplifying my responsibility  I want to step in and play master chemist and create these wonderful fragrances that I’m sure everyone will love.  But that’s soooo not the case, it’s not my job to give the increase (1 Corinthians 3:7)

My responsibility lies in simply staying empty, being ready, being willing, being lead (verse 14). My job is to disperse, God will reel in the victories.(Luke 5:4-5)

With a sincere heart and a sweet aroma, be encouraged to share the Love and the Knowledge of Christ with everyone that you come in contact with.

Leave a comment

October 24, 2012 · 3:21 am

Please Share Your Thoughts

