Be Available


Yesterday something interesting happened.

A friend of mine popped over, we are probably more on the acquaintance side but she’s still a friend nonetheless.

It was about 6:00 in the evening, I was in the middle of cooking dinner, my kitchen hadn’t been cleaned since breakfast and there was a mountain of homework, binders, shoes and socks in the space where my dinning room table should have been.

Her visit was unexpected, my front door was already open from the kids playing outside, she walked in called my name and plopped down at my kitchen table.

I couldn’t help but to notice that a piece of dried up egg from almost 12 hours earlier stabbed her in the elbow as she rested her arms on the table.  I grabbed the dishtowel wiped up the tiny assailant and its quarter dozen accomplainces and pulled up a chair next to her.

As soon as I sat down she began to pour out her frustrations.

I never said, what’s up? or why are you here? She just let go freely without any solicitation.  She went on to discuss her challenges and I listened sincerely and attentively, she asked me several times for my advise.

There was a quick moment in my mind where I was like, I don’t know, I don’t have teenage children, I’ve never been divorced why are you asking me?   In this same quick moment I could smell my Salmon drying out…it wasn’t burning but I knew my oven was sucking all the moisture out of that little sea creature.

I have learned that that stuff doesn’t matter though,  I immediately began to shift my thinking and started encouraging her with the Word of God.  The nice thing about the Word is that it’s a truth that is universal….and though she is not a believer the Truth resonated.

In those split seconds of thinking of what I was going to say and wanting to go rescue my fish, I quietly pushed those thoughts aside and said, “Lord, give me the words to say.”

The Word of God makes me seem smarter than I really am.  It qualifies me to speak on topics that I have no credentials or experience in.

At half past seven my friend left my house with so many of her questions answered, she had a perspective change and exited my door with a peace that she did not enter with.  And trust me it was not because I knew what to say it was because I depended on Him.  God showed me a lot yesterday.

One was how far I’ve come.  A year ago for sure this same scenario would have played out differently.  Now I’ve never been a mean person per say, but I have been selfish, or perhaps a better term is self aware, these would have been the thoughts in my head:

  • Umm why is she here?
  • My house is a mess, let’s talk outside
  • It’s getting kinda late, I still have to X, Y oh and I must do Z
  • I paid $12.99/lb for that fish, hold that thought let me go take it out

There will always be a million reasons and valid excuses to keep us from being 100% available to others.  But in the grand scheme of eternity the deposit that the Father was able to make in my friends life through me is far greater than Moist Salmon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Happenings

Please Share Your Thoughts

