Stand


I had a friend who was incarcerated for two years, I won’t discuss the details of his case for obvious reasons, but he was imprisoned unjustly.  Now I’m not the type of person that says, he’s my friend and he didn’t do it,  he truly was innocent.  I had the opportunity to see first hand the corrupt justice system that plagues this nation.

Yes, I am grateful for the just judges and all those who strive to uphold the law. I also realize that relative to other countries we have it pretty good, but the fact is, the system can be shady.

At the time of arrest he was never read his rights, and over the course of two years he was never brought before a judge, never informed of his charges and was the only prisoner banned from going to the library.

I’m trying to remain calm…don’t get me started.

We spent countless hours and resources filing motions on his behalf, studying the system, visiting, praying, searching for anyone to answer, demanding just a basic level of accountability.  For two years the court was SILENT.

In the face of all this opposition my friend continued to stand.  He would not be moved.  He was offered several pleas, opportunities I can’t even say I would pass up if it meant that I could leave that place and return to the comfort of my home and family.

He would not bow to injustice, this inspired me I admired him and to be honest it made me think he was crazy sometimes.

He’s quite versed in the law…the REAL law, rights that were established and given to us under the constitution.  Not this newfangled stuff they are trying to pass over on us, bogus law disguised as “safety” but really its fear.  (but that’s another blog)

What surpassed his legal knowledge was his faith in God. He always believed that God would deliver him and he was committed to standing his ground until justice was served.

It makes me think of the scripture in Ephesians 6:13:

13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand

This life unfortunately is not fair, and many times things happen that are outside of our control.  When trouble comes (and it will) we have to be prepared, equipped to fight the battle at hand.  Eph. 6:12 tells us that the battle that we fight is not a natural one but a spiritual one.  We don’t war in this dimension, but we can certainly fail in it if our Spirit Man is not strong, and we step out unprepared.

Take some time to read Ephesians Chapter 6 today. Learn what it means to be prepared.  If you’ve read it before refresh yourself.  It’s what I’m going to do, I want to be able to STAND no matter what I’m going through, much like my friend in this situation.

By the way, we got a phone call last week that he was released from prison and this morning we woke up to a text message saying that ALL (ambiguous) charges were dropped and everything he lost in the process has been restored.  Such an amazing testimony.  I haven’t done it justice because I can’t share all the details, but I hope it inspires you today to be ready, be prepared and having done all…continue to Stand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Testimony

Please Share Your Thoughts

