Bacon Cheeseburger Please


As a mother my responsibility to my kids is to love, clothe, feed and house them.  I do this constantly. Most of the the time they don’t even realize it or thank me.  I hear “Thanks for dinner mom”,  on nights  when I make Orange Chicken and Tater tots.  I didn’t get any rave reviews last week when I made Potato Soup.  I’m the “best mom ever” when I bring home ice cream, or let them go to a friends house.  But if I said, hey today were not going anywhere or doing anything fun I’m just gonna sit around and hug and love you guys all day.  I’m sure it would be dubbed the worst day ever.
I make sacrifices to feed my children a certain way, a few weeks ago, I bought sockeye salmon the stuff is not cheap but it’s so good for you.  The kids had testing in school so I was trying to load them up on Omega 3’s and EFA’s like it would immediately go to their brain and make them smarter.  They did not like it, I could have bought some processed chicken wings from Walmart and they would have been in heaven.  Again they were clueless to the purpose of dinner that night.  Honestly, I understand that they like chicken wings better than Salmon.  But it hurts when they turn their nose up to something that I worked hard to provide them for their own benefit.  I don’t expect them to start doing cartwheels at the sight of salmon but I want them to  at least understand that when I put something on the table that they don’t particularly like it’s for a purpose.
I try not to take it personal. I know my kids love me, but they’re kids.  Do we love God?  Sure, but we’re kids too.  Ok fine, grown ups with a jacked up human nature.
God is a good God, he actually wants to please us …he does not want to withhold good things from us and everything He does in our lives He has a purpose for it.  But sometimes it’s hard to see that.  We want a bacon cheeseburger and God gives us a salad with no croutons.
Instead of trying to find the benefit in what He’s doing, we complain.
Why can’t we just say I don’t like Salad but if that’s what you want me to have I’m going to  trust you and eat it until you choose to give me a bacon burger.  I’d like to take it a step further and say……you know what even if I never get that bacon burger, you’re still amazing and if you think this Salad is what I need, then salad is enough for me.
Psalms 84:11 For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory:no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly. (KJV)
Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Happenings

Please Share Your Thoughts

