What is Peccatophobia?


A few weeks ago I stumbled upon a list of phobias.  The list was quite extensive and for three-quarters of an hour it became my source of entertainment. The “phobia list” contained things I’ve never imagined like:

  • Arachibutyrophobia – Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth. 
  • Bromidrosiphobia – Fear of body smells.
  • Omphalophobia – Fear of belly buttons.
  • Pteronophobia – Fear of being tickled by feathers.

Then I came to Peccatophobia – the abnormal fear of sinning.  I though Hmm, if the world was diagnosed with even an acute version of this condition how much better would we be?

Think about it. What if every time we got ready to talk behind someone’s back, tell a little “white” lie, esteem ourselves higher than our neighbor, or entertain sexual immorality, this happened?:

Feelings of extreme anxiety, dread and panic comparable to shortness of breath, rapid breathing, irregular heartbeat, extreme sweating, nausea, dry mouth, incapability to articulate words or sentences, dizziness and shaking.

I’m not advocating for the fear of anything, as the bible clearly states, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power of love and of a sound mind.” (2 Timothy 1:7 NKJV).  All I am saying is that there should be something in us that has NO desire to sin.  Murder, Grand Theft Auto and Bank Robbing I think I can safely say most of us have no desire to do those things.

In my personal life God is always turning my attention to the very small and slightest things in my character that need to be worked out.  Things I honestly wish He’d leave alone sometimes.  You know the things you try to justify with the sentence…”Well at least I’m not….” or “Its not as bad as…” or my favorite “That’s just my personality”.

Peccatophia.  I’m reminded that I don’t want ANYTHING in my life that displeases God.  Not the big obvious things and certainly not the tiny secret things.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “What is Peccatophobia?

  1. Interesting, I didn’t realize there was a phobia about sin. I like how you tied the phobia to the problem of minimizing sin. Certainly gave me something to think about this evening–thanks!

Please Share Your Thoughts

